مركز مير | العلاج الطبيعي للعظام والمفاصل
15338
rtl,page,page-id-15338,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-9.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.11.1,vc_responsive
 

العلاج الطبيعي للعظام والمفاصل

يركز هذا الفرع من العلاج الطبيعي على تشخيص وعلاج اصابات و مشاكل الجهاز الهيكلي العضلي (العضلات والعظام والأربطة أو الأوتار) وإعادة التأهيل لما بعد عمليات العظام و المفاصل والإصابات الحادة الناجمة عن الأنشطة الرياضية والتهاب المفاصل وبتر الأطراف وذلك بأستخدام بعض من التقنيات والأساليب مثل الكمادات الباردة و الساخنة، تحريك المفاصل والتحفيز الكهربائي , الموجات الصوتية لاعادة الاستشفاء بشكل أسرع للبدء بتدريبات القوة.

العلاج الطبيعي للعظام ضروري جدا لاستعادة النشاط والقوة والحركة مباشرة بعد وقوع الإصابات أوالعمليات الجراحية. المرضى الذين لديهم مشاكل في العظام عادة يواجهون القصور والضعف التي يمكن القضاء عليها أو على الأقل تخفيفها عن طريق تمارين خاصة تهدف إلى استعادة وتعزيز الوظائف أو على الأقل التقليل من المشاكل.

الأمور الأساسية التي يمكن القيام بها في العلاج الطبيعي للعظام هي اطالة وتقوية العضلات، العلاج بالبرودة والحرارة والموجات فوق الصوتية، التحفيز الكهربائي…الخ. الاطالة أمر بالغ الأهمية إذا كان المريض لديه مفصل متصلب والتي تؤثر على الأنشطة العادية بشدة، تساعد الأطالة المريض في تحسين وظيفة العضلات وزيادة القدرة على التحمل والحفاظ على المدى الحركي. وتهدف سلسلة التدريبات المغلقة لمساعدة توازن قوة العضلات في حين تدريبات تقوية العضلات تساعد المرضى الذين فقدوا الاحساس العميق في المفاصل بسبب الالتواء على سبيل المثال، وذلك بتعليم المريض مجددا كيفية السيطرة على الموقف في المفصل المصاب.

العلاج بالبرودة والحرارة، الاحماء وتهدئة العضلات تساهم في تنشيط الدورة الدموية كما تساعد على تقليل التورم. تستخدم الموجات فوق الصوتية لتحفيز الأنسجة العميقة لتزيد من حرارتها مما يحسن تدفق الدم في الخلايا العميقة.

Elastic_ankle_support_inside

مفصل الكاحل

أحدى اكثر الاصابات الشائعة في مفصل الكاحل هي التواء الاربطة المحيطة به وخاصة من الجهة الخارجية للقدم، من قاعدة عظمة الساق الخارجية الى عظمة الكعب. يحدث الالتواء بسهولة عند التوهن او الأنزلاق بحيث تتحرك القدم للداخل من غير الساق مما تؤدي الى اطالة زائدة في الياف الاربطة، تعتمد مدى الأطالة الزائدة على القوة المؤثرة عليها.  يحدث الالتهاب في لحظة وقوع الاصابة و ذلك استجابة للدفاع عن الجسم و يتشكل احمرار و تورم في المنطقة و آلام عند اللمس و الحركة. لذلك من المهم الانتباه للتورم و ذلك بالمحافظة على تخفيف الالم و تدعيم الاربطة و الانسجة التي حصلت عليها الاصابة بشكل كافي لجعل الحركة مريحة اكثر و السماح للاربطة بالشفاء. عند التئام الاربطة من المهم المحافظة على الالياف قريبة من بعضهم البعض تكي تلتئم الاربطة بالطول المناسب و بسلاسة. يحتوي الكاحل على اعصاب مسؤولة عن الاحساس العميق في داخل المفصل و هي عبارة عن نهايات عصبية حساسة للموضع و تعمل على تأمين تغذية راجحة للدماغ لتأمين توازن القدمين .اعادة التوازن للقدم مهم جدا بعد التعرض للاصابات لتجنب حصول اصابات مشابهة .

آلام أسفل الظهر

عادة، الأفراد الأصغر سنا ( 30 الى 60 سنة من العمر) هم أكثر عرضة لآلام  أسفل الظهر أثر شد عضلات أسفل الظهر أو اصابة القرص نفسه – مثل فتق الاقراص القطنية أو الأمراض التنكسية للاقراص القطنية و العجزية.

الأعراض: وجع أو الم شديد في أسفل الظهر، الذي يبدأ بعد نشاط و حركة مفاجئة، أو رفع جسم ثقيل.

آلام أسفل الظهر تشمل أحدى أو مزيج من الأعراض التالية:

  • صعوبة التحرك، التي يمكن أن تكون شديدة بما فيه الكفاية لمنع المشي أو الوقوف
  • آلام تنتقل حول إلى الفخذ، والأرداف أو أعلى الفخذ، ولكن نادرا ما تصل الى تحت الركبة
  • الآلام تميل إلى أن تكون مملة و موجعة
  • تشنجات العضلات، والتي يمكن أن تكون شديدة
  • وجع و حساسية عند تلمس المكان المصاب

الأعراض: آلام أسفل الظهر التي تنتقل إلى الأرداف والساق والقدم (عرق النسا)

عرق النسا تشمل أحدى أو مزيج من الأعراض التالية:

  • الألم عادة يكون مستمرا ( تزيد لبضعة أيام أو أسابيع ثم تهدأ)
  • قد يكون الألم أسوأ في الساق والقدم من في أسفل الظهر
  • عادة يشعر المريض بالألم على جانب واحد من الأرداف أو الساق فقط
  • الألم عادة ما يكون أسوأ بعد الوقوف أو الجلوس لفترات طويلة، أقل نوعا ما عند المشي
  • أحيانا أكثر شدة (حرقة و وخز) و أحيانا مملة و موجعة
  • قد تكون مصحوبة بضعف، تنميل أو صعوبة في تحريك الساق أو القدم

المرضى الذين يعانون من معظم أنواع آلام أسفل الظهر غالبا ما يحالون الى مراكز العلاج الطبيعي لمدة أربعة أسابيع  كخيار العلاج الأولي (المحافظ) قبل النظر في علاجات أكثر عدوانية مثل العمليات الجراحية في الظهر. أهداف العلاج الطبيعي هي تقليل الآلام، تحسين وظائف الظهر، وتعليم المريض برامج وقائية لمنع مشاكل الظهر في المستقبل.

الأنواع الشائعة من العلاج الطبيعي لعلاج آلام أسفل الظهر تشمل:

1. العلاج الطبيعي السلبي (الطرائق)، والذي يتضمن أمور مثل أستعمال الحرارة، وكمادات الثلج والتحفيز الكهربائي. على سبيل المثال، يمكن أستعمال وسادة التدفئة لأحماء العضلات قبل القيام بممارسة الرياضة وأطالة العضلات، ويمكن وضع كيس من الثلج بعد ذلك لتهدئة العضلات والأنسجة الرخوة.

2. العلاج الطبيعي النشط، والذي يركز على تمارين محددة وتمارين أطالة. أهداف معظم العلاجات لآلام أسفل الظهر هي ممارسة التمارين النشطة التي هي محور برنامج العلاج الطبيعي.

lower-back-pain
33333

آلام الرقبة (آلام الفقرات العنقية)

معظم نوبات آلام الرقبة تحدث بسبب شد عضلي أو التواء الأنسجة الرخوة (الأربطة والأوتار)، ولكن يمكن أيضا أن تحدث اثر قوة خارجية مفاجئة (الاصابة). هذه الأنواع من آلام الرقبة غالبا ما تتحسن مع الوقت والرعاية غير الجراحية مثل الأدوية والعلاج الطبيعي. ولكن إذا استمرت هذه الألام أو سائت غالبا ما يدل أن هناك حالة محددة تتطلب العلاج، مثل تنكس أقراص الفقرات العنقية، انزلاق غضروفي أو تضيق القناة الشوكية، أو التهاب مفاصل الفقرات العنقية.

مفصل لاعبي التنس

التهاب اللقيمة الجانبي (مفصل لاعبي المضرب او التنس) هي من اكثر الاصابات شيوعاً في مفصل الكوع، عادة ما تحصل عند الحركات المتكررة و الاستخدام الزائد للمفصل. كثير من الاشخاص يصابون بهذا المرض مع انهم لم يمارسوا لعبة كرة المضرب في حياتهم و لكن ارتبط هذا المرض بلاعبي كرة المضرب .
الالم ينشأ من تهيج عدد من مكونات مفصل الكوع: مؤدية الى الالتهاب حول الاربطة في نقطة ارتباطها مع العظام او في نقطة الارتباط بين الوتر و الالياف العضلية، الحركة يمكن ان تتأثر بتأثر الارتباط العظمي للجزء الخارجي من مفصل الكوع، و يمكن ان تتأثر الاعصاب التي تمر من تلك المنطقة .
بعض الدراسات اثبتت ان بعض الحالات يكون سببها اصابة في الرقبة و يكون الالم في مفصل الكوع .
يجب فحص جميع اجزاء ، مفصل الكوع و حتى ان كنت تعاني من الالام منذ فترة طويلة فبالتأكيد قد سمعت عن مجموعة كبيرة من العلاجات التي تمت تجربتها و التي لم تتم تجربتها و ذلك بسبب ان هذه الحالة لها الكثير من الاسباب المسببة لها .

elbow-pain
HEALTH-How-toManage-Headache

وجع الرأس

الصداع الناتج عن التوتر كما يطلقون عليه يمكن انه يكون سببه تهيج في المنطقة المتصلة من اسفل الجمجمة الى الفقرتين الاولى و الثانية .

الحوض

معظم الم الحوض سببه عدم الحركة في الحوض , الاشخاص الغربيين خاصة لا يستخدمون النطاق الحركي الكامل لهذا المفصل مبدأ الكرة و التجويف يحتاج الى ليونة و عدم احتكاك في الجزء الداخلي من التجويف حتى نضمن وصول الغذاء للغضاريف . و غير ذلك يميل الغضروف الى الاسوأ . من غير استخدام العضلات و الاربطة و الاوتار المحيطة بمفصل الحوض تصبح ضعيفة و مائلة للاسوأ و هي مثال حي للجملة المأثورة ” استخدمها او ستخسرها ” .

حيث الورك هو المصدر الرئيسي للألم، واستعادة حركة المفصل و القوة العضلية ضرورية للحد من الألم وتحسين وظيفة. ولكن ليس كل ألم في الورك يأتي من الورك! أحيانا يكون هناك ألم في جميع أنحاء الورك، حتى بما في ذلك ضعف في العضلات، ومع ذلك فسببه هو في أسفل الظهر (الفقرات القطنية)، مما أدى إلى “وجود الم منتقل ” للورك.

hip
shutterstock_194844245-800x533

الركبة و صابونة القدم

يمكن وصف الركبة كمفصل له اتجاه حركي واحد فقط، والحركات الرئيسية فقط هي ثني الركبة و فردها (أي الثني والمد). يمكن أن تتعرض للتلف عند الالتوائها (أ)الأربطة (المممتدة من العظام إلى العظام) سواء على الجانب الداخلي أو الخارجي للركبة (ب) الغضاريف (داخل الركبة الهلاليه منها)،(ج) الرباط الصليبي داخل الركبة – مصمم هذا الرباط لجعل الركبة ثابتة من الأمام إلى الخلف و العكس صحيح- لذلك هم أكثر عرضة لاصابة مباشرة او غير مباشرة .

بعض الألعاب الرياضية صعبة بشكل خاص على ركبة، و على سبيل المثال كرة القدم.إذا تعرضت الركب إلى الكثير من الصدمات على مدى السنوات يحصل فيهما التهاب المفاصل. وهذا يعني أن سطح الغضروف على عظم الفخذ والساق تصبح خشنة وغير منتظمة. أسطح الغضاريف الطبيعية تنزلق على بعضها البعض بشكل سلس، مثل الثلج على الجليد. عندما تتضرر الغضاريف فإن حركة الركبتين يمكن أن تتقيد، وتصبح ذات صوت صاخب، ولكن ليس بالضرورة مؤلمة. آلية الإصابة غالبا ما تحدد الأجزاء الأكث تضرر. يمكن للأخصائي العلاج الطبيعي التأكد من المشكلة عن طريق اختبار دقيق (ولطيف) في العيادة. ومن الشائع في هذه الأيام استخدام إجراءات المسح المكلفة لعديد من الإصابات ، ولكن يمكن لأخصائي العلاج الطبيعي الجيدة في كثير من الأحيان التعرف على الاصابة في العيادة عن طريق الفحص.

صابونة القدم

وثمة سبب شائع للألم الركبة، وليس فقط لأنواع رياضية، هو الألم االصابونة من الخلف. إن الركبة في الواقع داخل وتر عضلة الفخذ (أربعة العضلات في الجزء الأمامي من الفخذ) يحتاج إلى التوازن بين العضلات لتكون مكان صابونة الركبة مركز في وسط الركبة. إذا اختل التوازن بين العضلات تميل إلى سحب الصابونة جانبيا (عادة نحو الجانب الخارجي) على الركبة. هذا يسبب الاحتكاك بين الجزء الخلفي من الركبة والجزء الأمامي من الفخذ، مما يؤدي إلى التهاب.

وعادة ما يكون الألم أكثر وضوحا عند الجلوس لفترة طويلة، (على سبيل المثال، في السيارة أو في السينما)، أو عندما تعمل الركبة بجهد – على سبيل المثال نزول وصعود الدرج. بالنسبة للبعض الركوع أمر مستحيل. يشمل تقييم العلاج الطبيعي اختبار العضلات، وقياس “مكان” الصابونة، والعمل على كيفية تصحيح مكانها وإعادة تمرين العضلات لاستعادة التوازن.

A00512F02
Closeup of young shirtless man with shoulder pain over white background

الكتف

مفصل الكتف هو من المفاصل المعقدة – الكثير من مجالات الحركة متاح في كل الأتجاهات، ولكن ثبات المفص واستقراره محدود، لذلك هذا لابد من توفرالثبات في العضلات والأربطة المحيطة به. رئيس العضد (عظم طويل من الجزء العلوي من الذراع) يتحرك في التجوف الحقاني، سطح محدب قليلا على الجانب الخارجي من الكتف. عظمة الترقوة ترتبط أيضا مع جزء من الكتف تدعى الأخرم. تعرف العضلات المحيطة بالمفصل،و تعمل بين العضد والكتف بعضلات الكفة.

خلخل المتف سهل حدوثه نسبيا ، مهم جدا لحظة علاجه إعادة قوة العضلات لتكون قادرة على العمل. عندما يصبح الكتف مؤلم وتتوقف الحركة من فراغ يطلق عليه عادة مصطلح الكتف المتجمدة.

مشاكل الكتف تحتاج دراسة متأنية جدا، يمكن ان تكون صعبه التشخيص لأن الآلية كلها معقدة جدا. ليس ذلك فحسب، فإن عددا كبيرا من أنماط الألم تبدو أنها من الكتف في حين أن المشكلة تكمن في الرقبة وفعلا يشار الألم في الكتف، الكتف أو أسفل الذراع.

الرسغ واليد

المشاكل الشائعة حول المعصم واليد تنشأ عن الأنشطة المتكررة مثل استخدام لوحة المفاتيح. وتشمل العوامل التي يمكن أن تسهم بالمشاكل فترات طويلة بشكل غير عادي باستخدام لوحة المفاتيح، أو استخدام لوحة المفاتيح بوضع خاطئ (عالية جدا ومنخفضة جدا، في زاوية حرجة الخ) أو التحول من نوع واحد من الاستخدام لآخر – (لوحة المفاتيح إلى الماوس، التمرير الخ)

الألم يمكن أن تنشأ من التهاب في الأوتار و / أو المفاصل الصغيرة في اليدين والمعصم. قد يكون هناك أيضا تهيج الأعصاب توريد اليد / المعصم / والساعدين.

التشخيص المتأني يحديد مصدر الأعراض. ويمكن أن تشمل العلاج تحسين حركة الأنسجة الرخوة: العضلات والأوتار والأربطة. مفاصل اليد والمعصم. إن استخدام الموجات فوق الصوتية تقليل الالتهاب. من الواضح أنه في كثير من الأحيان يجب مراجعة بيئة العمل لمنع تكرار هذا النوع من المشاكل.

hand-wrist-pain-1020x680

MEER | Orthopedic Physical Therapy
15338
page,page-id-15338,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-9.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.11.1,vc_responsive
 

Orthopedic Physical Therapy

This branch of physical therapy focuses on diagnosis, management and treatment of injuries and problems the muscular skeletal system (muscles, bones, ligaments or tendons) and rehabilitating them immediately after orthopedic operations. This branch particularly deals with treating postoperative joints, acute injuries due to sport activities, arthritis and amputations by using techniques and approaches that make recovery faster as strengthening exercises, hot/cold packs, joint mobilizations, electrical stimulation and therapeutic ultrasound.

Orthopedic physical therapy is essential to restore the patients’ activity, strength and motion right after injuries or surgery. Orthopedic patients usually have deficiencies and weaknesses which could be eliminated or at least alleviated via particular targeted exercises designed to restore and enhance functions or, at least minimize the problems.

There are lots of rehabilitation tools used in this branch of physical therapy among these are stretching, strengthening (closed chain, proprioceptive…etc.), ice and heat therapy, ultrasound, etc. Stretching exercises are critical for dealing with stiff joint that affect normal activities. Proper stretching exercises can assist preserve such functions. Strengthening exercises aid patients in improving their muscle functions, increasing endurance and maintaining or improving the normal range of motions. Closed chain exercises assist the strength of muscles whereas proprioceptive exercises assist patients who lost the sense of knowing where a body part is in space due to a sprain for example, relearn how to control the position from the respective injured joint.

The cold/heat therapy contribute to stimulation of blood circulation and decrease swellings. Therapeutic ultrasound improves blood flow by stimulating and warming up deep tissues.

Elastic_ankle_support_inside

Ankle joint

One of the commonest injuries is ankle sprain that happens by missing footing or slipping, in which the foot turns-in and the lower leg doesn’t. The fibers of the ligament are over-stretched to varying degrees depending on the involved force. There will be an inflammatory response (redness and swelling) at the time of injury. Inflammation is the body’s defense response to injury, the ankle will be tender to touch and there will be pain during movement. A normal healthy inflammatory response is, if anything, rather overdone, so it is important to reduce swelling which in turn reduces pain and support the injured tissues, enough to make movement more comfortable and allow the ligament to. As the ligament heals it is important to keep the fibers approximated so that the ligament heals at the appropriate length – not too long or the ankle will be unstable after repair, not too short or the ankle will lack its normal flexibility. The ankle ligament contains loads of proprioceptors: nerve endings sensitive to position which feed up to the brain and inform balance reactions in the leg muscles. It is important to retrain these balance reactions after ankle injury, otherwise the ankle performs poorly on uneven ground or in complex rapid movements and the ligament will be vulnerable to re-injury.

Low back pain

Typically, younger individuals (30 to 60 years old) are more likely to experience back pain from a lower back muscle strain or from within the disc space itself – such as a lumbar disc herniation or lumbar degenerative disc disease.

Symptoms: Severe or aching pain in the lower back that starts after activity, sudden movement, or lifting a heavy object.

These lower back pain symptoms include any combination of the following:

  • Difficulty moving that can be severe enough to prevent walking or standing
  • Pain that also moves around to the groin, buttock or upper thigh, but rarely travels below the knee
  • Pain that tends to be achy and dull
  • Muscle spasms, which can be severe
  • Local soreness upon touch

Symptoms: Low back pain that travels to the buttock, leg and foot (sciatica)

Sciatica includes any combination of the following symptoms:

  • Pain typically is ongoing (as opposed to flaring up for a few days or weeks and then subsiding)
  • Pain may be worse in the leg and foot than in the lower back
  • Typically felt on one side the buttock or leg only
  • Pain that is usually worse after long periods of standing still or sitting: relieved somewhat when walking
  • More severe (burning, tingling) vs. dull, aching pain
  • May be accompanied by weakness, numbness or difficulty moving the leg or foot

Patients suffering from most types of low back pain are often referred for physical therapy for four weeks as an initial conservative (nonsurgical) treatment option before considering other more aggressive treatments, including back surgery. The goals of physical therapy are to decrease back pain, increase function, and teach the patient preventive programs to avoid future back problems.

Common forms of physical therapy include:

  1. Passive physical therapy (modalities), which includes things done to the patient, such as heat application, ice packs and electrical stimulation. For example, a heating pad may be applied to warm up the muscles prior to doing exercising and stretching, and an ice pack may be used afterward to sooth the muscles and soft tissues.
  2. Active physical therapy, which focuses on specific exercises and stretching. For most low back pain treatments, active exercise is the focus of the physical therapy program.
lower-back-pain
33333

Neck Pain (Cervical Pain)

Most episodes of neck pain are due to muscle strain or soft tissue sprain (ligaments, tendons), but it can also be caused by a sudden force (whiplash). These types of neck pain often improve with time and non-surgical care such as medication and physical therapy. But if neck pain continues or worsens, there is often a specific condition that requires treatment, such as cervical degenerative disc disease, cervical herniated disc, cervical stenosis, or cervical arthritis.

Elbow

Tennis elbow is a common injury of elbow joint. It tends to be precipitated by a periods of repetitive use of the joint. Many people get tennis elbow without ever having played tennis! It has become a common term for elbow pain associated with difficulty in gripping.

Pain can arise from irritation of a number of structures around the elbow joint: inflammation can occur around the tendon(s) at the point of attachment to the bone, or at the junction between tendon and muscle fibers; the mobility of the elbow joint can deteriorate, particularly the articulation between the head of the radius and the humerus. There can be restriction of the passage of nerve fibers, particularly the radial nerve, through the soft tissues around the elbow.
Some research has shown that in the majority of cases there will be some degree of dysfunction in the neck, contributing to elbow pain, particularly if the condition has been persistent.
All of these structures need to be accurately examined and treated to resolve tennis elbow. If you have had tennis elbow for any length of time you will probably hear about all sorts of different treatment approaches which may or may not have worked; this is because it is a condition which can have a number of differing underlying causes.

elbow-pain
HEALTH-How-toManage-Headache

Headaches

Tension headaches, as they are called, can arise from irritation of the structures between the base of the skull, and the top two vertebrae: the atlas and the axis.

Hip

Hip pain often arises from reduced mobility in the hip joint. This joint is extremely mobile but sedentary western living makes hardly any use of the available range. The ball and socket mechanism of the hip joint needs to be lubricated across the entire surface to ensure nutrition of the cartilage. Otherwise the cartilage surface tends to deteriorate. Without use the muscles, ligaments and tendons around the hip become distorted and weak. It’s a good example of the “use it or lose it” adage.
Where the hip is the primary source of pain, restoration of movement and muscle power is essential to reduce pain and improve function. Not all hip pain comes from the hip though ! Sometimes there will be pain around the hip, even including tenderness in the muscles, yet it is the lower back ( lumbar spine) that is at fault, giving rise to “referred” pain into the hip.

hip
shutterstock_194844245-800x533

Knee & Kneecaps

The knee can be described as a hinge joint, its main movements being flexion and extension (i.e bending and straightening). It is vulnerable to torsion which can damage a) the ligaments (running from bone to bone) either on the inner or outer aspect of the knee b) the cartilages (washer type structures inside the knee) c) the cruciate ligaments inside the knee – these are designed to hold the knee steady from front to back – so they are more likely to become injured when the knee is “sheared”.
Some sports are particularly tough on knees, football for instance. Knees that have taken a lot of trauma over the years will tend to get arthritic. This means that the actual cartilage surface on the femur and the tibia gets ragged and irregular. Normal cartilage surfaces slide on each other incredibly smoothly, like ice on ice. When this surface deteriorates, movement of the knees can be more restricted, certainly more noisy, but not necessarily painful. The mechanism of injury often suggests the structures most likely to be damaged. The physiotherapist can then confirm the problem by careful (and gentle) testing in the clinic. It is common practice to use expensive scanning procedures for many injuries these days, but a good physiotherapist can often identify the injury in the clinic by examination.

Kneecaps

A common cause of pain around the knee, not only for sporty types, is retro patellar pain, (pain behind the kneecap). The kneecap is actually enclosed within the tendon of the quadriceps muscle (four muscles on the front of the thigh) The balance between the muscles needs to be just right so that the knee cap sits centrally over the knee. If the balance goes off then the muscles tend to pull the kneecap sideways (usually towards the outer aspect) on the knee. This causes friction between the back of the kneecap and the front of the femur, leading to inflammation.
Alternatively the knee can hyper extend (when standing with the knees locked straight, they don’t just straighten, they go past straight and bow backwards) this can cause the kneecap to rub excessively against the knee joint, setting up a low grade inflammation which will become painful.
Typically the pain is more noticeable when sitting for a long time, (for instance, in the car or at the cinema), or when the knee works under load – e.g down or upstairs. For some, kneeling is impossible. Physiotherapy assessment will include muscle testing, measuring the “lie” of the patella, working out how to correct the position and retrain the muscles to restore balance.

A00512F02
Closeup of young shirtless man with shoulder pain over white background

Shoulder

The shoulder or gleno humeral joint is an intricate arrangement – loads of movement is available in just about every direction, but stability is limited, so this has to be provided by the muscles and ligaments surrounding it. The head of the humerus (the long bone of the upper arm ) moves on the glenoid, a slightly convex surface on the outer aspect of the shoulder blade. The collar bone also connects up with a part of the shoulder blade called the acromion. The muscles surrounding the joint, running between the humerus and shoulder blade are known as the rotator cuff.
Shoulders dislocate relatively easily, once the dislocation is treated it is important to get all the muscles back in good working order. Shoulders can become painful and restricted seemingly out of the blue, and the term frozen shoulder is quite often used.
Shoulder problems need really careful examination, they can be very difficult to diagnose because the whole mechanism is so intricate. Not only that, a significant number of pain patterns will appear to be arising from the shoulder when in fact the problem lies in the neck and the pain is actually referred to the shoulder, shoulder blade or down the arm.

Wrist & Hand

Common problems around the wrist and hand can arise from repetitive activities such as using a keyboard. Factors which can contribute include unusually prolonged periods of time using the keyboard, or using the keyboard in an awkward position (too high, too low, at an awkward angle etc) or switching from one type of use to another – (keyboard to mouse, scrolling etc.)
Pain can arise from local inflammation in the tendons and / or small joints of the hands and wrist. There may also be irritation of the nerves supplying the hands/ wrist/ forearms.
Careful examination will identify the source of symptoms. Treatment can include improving the mobility of the soft tissues: muscles, tendons, ligaments; the joints of the hand and wrist. The use of low dose pulsed ultrasound will reduce inflammation. Clearly it is often worth reviewing the working environment to prevent recurrence of this sort of problem.

hand-wrist-pain-1020x680